korean drama / review / spoiler

Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo Final Thoughts and Disappointments

f08c67de-2e80-402d-8aff-430a6cf4e38e

Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo starring Lee Joon Gi and IU just wrapped up last night. For its final episode, it won over its competitors in the Monday-Tuesday block on the ratings game. However, no one can deny that despite its big budget, the drama failed to achieve high ratings domestically. The drama is well-loved internationally though.

3c831ca0-3ccb-42ee-a911-5eb50236819a

So, I want to give my final thoughts about the drama.

Acting-wise, I’m not impressed with the other casts especially EXO’s Baekhyun and SNSD’s Seohyun. I think they need more experience in acting before they do their next sageuk drama. When it comes to Jisoo, I expected so much from him but he failed to deliver. I guess he is not fit on doing sageuk dramas. I love him in Angry Mom though. In the Chinese version, I love the 14th prince (Jisoo’s role in the Korean version). I even shipped him with the lead actress. But, in MLSHR, I didn’t. I can’t see any chemistry between him and IU. Also, his mane of glory doesn’t suit him. Nam Joohyuk is okay. He didn’t stand out but he’s okay. I love his mane of glory next to Lee Joon Gi’s. IU is surprisingly good, but she could have done it better. She’s improving though. I think this is the best performance I’ve seen of her. The other casts are impressive, especially Hong Jong Hyun and Kang Ha Neul. While Lee Joon Gi, as always, did an amazing portrayal of Wang So. I can’t think of anyone who can portray the character as effective as him.

wang-so-and-hae-soo

One of my problems with the drama is its background music. There are several times that the music doesn’t fit the mood of the scene, thus ruining it entirely. I’m also disappointed with the editing that made them reedit the scenes and release two different versions. It’s definitely a pain in the ass that I have to watch two versions since some important scenes are missing in the other but present in another.

moonlovers16-00640

Another problem for me is it has too much close up scenes. Close up scenes are okay, especially for Lee Joon Gi since he’s really good in expressing the emotion thru his eyes. But, too much of it is not good.

moonlovers2-00550a

The biggest disappoint for me is the ending. I was expecting to see Wang So in modern clothes. But, unfortunately, the writer gave us Ji Mong! Why?Why only him?! In the novel, Rouxi (Hae Soo) didn’t go back to the 21st century. So, since they followed what happened in the Chinese drama adaptation that Rouxi goes back to the modern-day era and learned that everything really did happened because of the paintings she saw in the museum, they should have showed us Wang So!

1478067850_moon-lovers

Despite of all its flaws, I still enjoyed watching it. It is somewhat addictive that even if you will realize its flaws, you can’t stop watching it. Unfortunately, this drama could have been an epic one if they have chosen the right persons to handle its technical aspects. Anyway, still kudos to the staff and crew since it ended with high ratings.

Leave a Reply

